Oxidation - Lemoncha

Types of Tea

Each variety of tea has its own particular method for leaf processing. For example, to obtain a green tea, the leaves must be "fired" or steamed to disable the enzymes responsible of oxidation. There are 5 main varieties (or “families”) of tea :


Green Tea

Green teas are non-oxidized teas. They are processed in a way which aims to avoid any oxidation. Their leaves are processed in three steps: roasting, rolling and drying.

Jade Oolong.jpg

Oolong Tea

Oolong teas are semi-oxidized. Their oxidation varies between 15% and 85%. 


Earl Grey.jpg

Black Tea

Black teas, called “red teas” in China because of the colour of their infusion, are teas whose leaves have been completely oxidized. Black tea is processed in five stages: withering, rolling, oxidation, roasting and sorting. The last step allows tea to be sorted into different grades. 

Dark Roasted Oolong.jpg

Pu'Er Tea

Pu'ers is a type of fermented black tea. Renowned for the calmative properties, they aid in digestion and help to detoxify the body. China’s Yunnan Province is very famous for, and a major producer of Pu'Er tea.

Berries & Lime.jpg

Herbal Tea

Herbal teas are natural, caffeine-free and can be enjoyed throughout the day.